The Riverbed Blog (testing)

A blog in search of a tagline

Meet the Riverbed Summer Interns, Part 6

Posted by riverbedtest on August 1, 2011

Rebecca Hu

Department at Riverbed:  US Accounting & Operations

Age: 22

School: UC Berkeley, Sociology undergraduate

Interests/hobbies:  preparing to run a marathon, reading, hanging out with friends, reading food blogs, trying out new foods/food sightseeing, sleeping

Have you interned at Riverbed before?

This is my 3rd summer as an intern at Riverbed, working in two departments – Sales Ops and US Accounting & Operations. Through my experience at Riverbed, I discovered that I actually really enjoy accounting, which really surprised me because previously I had always envisioned accounting as boring and dry. Also, I found that the accounting team is not as boring as most people think…they are a team of really cool and quirky individuals aka the cool kids on the block! Overall, Riverbed has taught me that I would enjoy a career in accounting.

What projects are you working on? 

I help a lot with Accounts Payable and get approvals for invoices, enter invoices into Oracle, and then file checks. I also help with cash applications and enter the payment information for wires into Oracle.

What are you hoping to learn at your time at Riverbed this summer?

I’m hoping to better understand the bigger picture and role that accounting plays as well as understanding the various roles people play in the accounting department and how each individual contributes to the overall big accounting picture.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Ideally, I will be working in the Big Four and have earned my CPA.

Thanks to Riverbed for a wonderful internship and the great learning experiences. Everyone here has always been super friendly, helpful, and supportive.


 

______________________________________________________________________________

Amber Pineda

Department at Riverbed: Corporate Events & Direct Marketing

Age: 20

School: Marist College

Interests/hobbies: I love to travel as much as I can, but in my spare time I like to read and spend time with my friends.

Have you interned at Riverbed before? 

Last year was my first year at Riverbed and I was also a Corporate Events & Direct Marketing Intern. What I enjoy the most about my department is the environment; everyone is enjoyable to be around and willing to share their advice and experience, which is helpful since I am still figuring out what I want to do after college.

What projects are you working on?

I have been working on updating the web events on Riverbed.com and organizing assets from the past quarter on to a Master Spreadsheet to help the Direct Marketing team locate materials.

What are you hoping to learn at your time at riverbed this summer?

I am hoping to learn more about the different aspects of Marketing, such as the differences between brand management, creative services, direct marketing, etc. to see what interests me the most.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I am not quite sure what I want do yet, but I am hoping in five years that I will have completed my master’s degree and that I have a job that requires me to travel and meet a variety of people.

I have had a great time so far at Riverbed and just want to thank everyone for giving me more insight and experience in marketing!


 

Leave a Reply

 
